Colored Rock Map of Texas at I-20 in Pecos, Click for Travel Guide

Pecos Enterprise

Site Map
Pecos Gab

Pecos Country History
Archive 62
Archive 74
Archive 87
1987 Tornado Photos
Rodeo Photos 88
Archive 95
Archive 96
Archive 97
News Photos 1997
Rodeo Photos 97
Archive 98
News Photos 1998
Rodeo Photos 98
Parade Photos 98
Archive 99
Photos 99
Archive 2000
Archive 2001
Archive 2002
Archive 2003
Photos 2000
Photos 2001
Photos 2002
Photos 2003

Archive 2004

Archive 2005

Archive 2006

Area Newspapers
Economic Development


Newspaper and Travel Guide
for Pecos Country of West Texas

Friday, May 19, 2006

Eagle players honored at Sports Banquet

Pecos High School athletes were honored Tuesday night for their efforts during the 2005-06 school year at the annual All-Sports Banquet, held at the new PHS gym.

Along with the announcement of all-district selections for Eagle players during the past year, 11 individual awards were given out, including one new one, the Sylvia Sadler Award, the first to go towards a member of the Pecos Eagle girls’ softball team.

The award was named for Sadler, a former Pecos-Barstow-Toyah ISD teacher who died two years ago, and was introduced by her mother, former P-B-T teacher and school board president Billie Sadler, and was given to senior shortstop Vanessa Valeriano, one of two awards she received on Tuesday. Earlier, Valeriano had received the Letha Prewit Award in basketball, which is the oldest of the 11 awards given out at the conclusion of the banquet, having first been presented in 1929.

Senior Olga Mendoza received the Joe Shoemaker Award, for participation by a senior in sports during her four years at Pecos High School, senior Jessica Florez was given the Norma Matta Award in volleyball, while junior Chantell Mazone, who competed last week in the Class 3A state discus finals, was given the Dorothy Nabers Curfman Award in track. Awards given to PHS boys on Tuesday included the Doc Lunday Sportsmanship Award, which went to senior Lamberto Herrera; the Craig Woods Award, which went to senior Andrew Grant; the Joe Bob Kelton Award, which was given to senior Matt Elliott; the Bill Dean Award, which went to junior Francisco Ornelas, and the Johnny V. Mata Award, which was given to senior Josh Payan.

The Neddie Molinar Award, which is given to a supporter of Pecos Eagle Athletics, went to Tracey Shaw.

Pecos places five on 3-3A softball team

Four members of the Pecos Eagles varsity softball team were named to the first team All-District 3-3A squad, while one was chosen to the second team in voting by the district’s seven coaches.

The team was selected two weeks ago and released following Monahans’ 1-0 loss to Abilene Wylie in the Region I-3A quarterfinals on May 11.

Senior catcher Jessica Florez, junior pitcher Amalie Herrera and junior outfielders Bianca Baeza and Cassandra Terrazas were chosen to the first team by the district’s coaches, while senior third baseman Savannah Ewing was a second team selection.

It was the second year in a row Herrera and Baeza were named to the first team all-district squad at pitcher and center field, while Florez, who was the Eagles’ leading hitter this season, was an honorable mention selection last season along with Ewing. It was the first time Terrazas has been named to the 3-3A all-district squad, while Ewing also was a second team selection at third base her sophomore year.

Along with the five selections, coach Tammy Walls said seniors Vanessa Valeriano and Hillery Hinojos, junior Jenny Palomino and freshman Gaby Garcia were named to the academic all-district team.

Monahans, which went undefeated while winning the district title, had the most players chosen to the team, while second place Fort Stockton and third place Greenwood were next. Loboes’ pitcher Heather Schuler was named MVP for 2006, and Prowlers’ pitcher Cecilia Molinar was chosen Newcomer of the Year.

The other Monahans players on the first team were third baseman Lana Santiago, catcher Dena Ortiz, and outfielders Brittany Slade and Katlin Mitchell. Second team picks included first baseman Bailey Marcum, second baseman Brianna Cheney, designated player Erin Garcia and outfielder Ashton Jarrett. Fort Stockton had shortstop Ruby Bernal and outfielders Lupita Leyva and Soli Hernandez on the first team and catcher Gabriela Cordero, first baseman Jessica Gonzales and third baseman Heather Garvin on the second team, while Greenwood had first teamers Savannah Neely at shortstop, Daisy Roman at second base and Emily Burgess in the outfield, along with second teamers Amber Garduno at pitcher and Amanda Dublin in the outfield.

The other selections to the first team include Seminole infielder Katlyn Rich and pitcher Jenny Morales and Presidio pitcher/shortstop Christa Carrasco. The other second team selections were Lamesa pitcher Ali Borrego, infielder Krystal Garcia, catcher Jaci Baca and outfielders Vanessa Alvarado and Krista Hernandez, and Seminole infielder Sandra Thompson and outfielders Lydia Miller and Kelsey Blaylock.

Coach Morse earns top state coaching honor

Pecos Eagles swimming coach Terri Morse received special recognition Tuesday night, at the annual Pecos High School All-Sports Banquet, as she was presented a plaque honoring her as the 2005-06 Coach of the Year in swimming for the state of Texas.

Morse was notified of the award last month, and will be formally presented the honor on Sept. 16, during Texas Interscholastic Coaches Association’s annual meeting at the Omni South Hotel in Austin.

“We will have a luncheon Saturday and they will present it then,” said Morse, who just completed her 21st season as PHS swimming coach.

“I’m honored by this award,” she said during Tuesday’s banquet. “When I first arrived in Pecos, I didn’t expect to be here very long, but now my life is in Pecos.”

She also thanks Pecos-Barstow-Toyah ISD officials and parents for their support during the banquet, which was held at the Pecos High School gym.

Morse’s teams have captured 15 of the past 17 district boys’ titles in swimming, and 13 of the last 16 girls district swimming titles. They also have won six of the seven Region I-4A boys championships and four of the seven girls titles since that regional was created in 2000. Pecos boys teams have also placed as high as fourth during that time at the Class 4A State Swimming and Diving Championships.

Morse said she would be sharing the Theron L. Pickle Lifetime Achievement Award this September with former PHS swimming coach Keith Irby, who currently coaches at The Colony in the Dallas area, and was the Eagles’ first swimming coach, in 1983-84.

Morse arrived for the 1985-86 season and won her first boys’ title in 1990, and her first district girls’ championship a year later. “I was happy to be nominated, but I didn’t expect to get it,” she said on Wednesday. “It’s a pretty big honor. I don’t think it’s hit me yet.” “I’ve been in on the process to pick it, and this year they told me I had been nominated and I should step out,” she said. “Generally, any of the coaches can nominate another coach, and in this case, one of the parents nominated me.”

Morse said Tracey Shaw, whose daughter Lindsey has been a member of the Eagles swim team for the past four seasons, sent in the nomination and a letter on why she was deserving of the award. “I thought it was a nice gesture, but I didn’t think I would get it.”

WWW Pecos Enterprise

Pecos Enterprise
York M. "Smokey" Briggs, Publisher
324 S. Cedar St., Pecos, TX 79772
Phone 432-445-5475, FAX 432-445-4321

Associated Press text, photo, graphic, audio and/or video material shall not be published, broadcast, rewritten for broadcast or publication or redistributed directly or indirectly in any medium.

Copyright 2003-04 by Pecos Enterprise