Colored Rock Map of Texas at I-20 in Pecos, Click for Travel Guide

Pecos Enterprise

Site Map
Pecos Gab

Pecos Country History
Archive 62
Archive 74
Archive 87
1987 Tornado Photos
Rodeo Photos 88
Archive 95
Archive 96
Archive 97
News Photos 1997
Rodeo Photos 97
Archive 98
News Photos 1998
Rodeo Photos 98
Parade Photos 98
Archive 99
Photos 99
Archive 2000
Archive 2001
Archive 2002
Archive 2003
Photos 2000
Photos 2001
Photos 2002
Photos 2003

Archive 2004

Archive 2005

Archive 2006

Area Newspapers
Economic Development


Newspaper and Travel Guide
for Pecos Country of West Texas

Tuesday, June 20, 2006

Players named for LL, JL, SL All-Star teams

All-Star teams were selected this past weekend for the Pecos Little League, Junior League and Senior League All-Star teams, with tournament play in all five divisions to begin over the next two weeks.

It will be the second year Pecos will participate in District 37, which was created for teams in the Permian Basin and Trans-Pecos area outside of Midland and Odessa. Pecos won the inaugural District 37 title in the 11-year-old division and then took the sectional title before placing third at the West Texas Championship in Waco, while the 11-12 age group team also won its title before losing at sectionals in Lubbock.

A number of those players will be on the Junior League All-Star squad, while the 11-12 year old team this year is made up mostly of players from last year’s 11-year-old team, and will get to play the tournament at the Chano Prieto Little League field.

The 11-12 team is made up of Jesus Salgado, Brandon Garnto, Mark Quintana, C.J. Gomez, Devante Jenkins, Analee Rodriguez, Elias Ballard, Antonio Rodriguez, Josh Hernandez, Geronimo Ornelas, Israel Espudo, Zack Rayos and Alex Garcia. Named to the Junior League squad were Arthur Navarette, Ramiro Pinales, Jake Varela, Maurice Johnson, Arturo Muniz, Joel Chavez, Isaiah Patino, Pedro Reyes, Justin Ybarra, Gilbert Sotelo, Israel Vela, Joe Ray Terrazas, Alex Dominguez and Jake Lopez.

The Junior League team is made up of 13- and 14-year-olds, while the Senior League squad is for the 15- and 16-year-olds. Both groups played together during regular season on league teams in order to create six full teams.

Senior League players for this year’s All-Star team include Timo Reyes, Isaiah Vela, Namo Baeza, Sal Baez, Ernie Herrera, Tony Reyes, Joseph Ontiveros, Osver Saenz, Alfredo Martinez, J.R. Lujan, Chris Sotelo, Garrick Martinez and John Dominguez.

This year’s 11-year-old All-Star squad will be made up on Alex Rodriguez, John Paul Gonzalez, Sammy Villegas, Adrian Martinez, Michael Carrasco, Benito Molina, Markie Rodriguez, Zack Johnson, Ismael Salgado, Nathan McCormick, Zack Mendoza, Justin Workman and Ya Ya Rodriguez. The youngest group, the 9-and-10 All-Star squad, includes Pony Palomino, Joey Varela, Jay Hinojos, Phillip Ontiveros, Jared Windham, Fabian Tarin, Raymond Matta, Jeffrey Trujillo, Quenten Garcia, Zack Gomez, Roddrick Renteria, John Zungia and Alvaro Dominguez.

WWW Pecos Enterprise

Pecos Enterprise
York M. "Smokey" Briggs, Publisher
324 S. Cedar St., Pecos, TX 79772
Phone 432-445-5475, FAX 432-445-4321

Associated Press text, photo, graphic, audio and/or video material shall not be published, broadcast, rewritten for broadcast or publication or redistributed directly or indirectly in any medium.

Copyright 2003-04 by Pecos Enterprise